Change

I hate change. I’ve hated it for as long as I can remember. Something about change to me is anxiety provoking. Some people, when faced with change get excited or see opportunity, I however usually become fearful and uncertain and that is something I want to start working on.

Doing some introspection about the way I feel when faced with change I realize I usually do whatever I can to prevent that change from happening to the point at times of becoming neurotic. I may beg, plea or even put myself in an uncomfortable situation if I think it will keep things from changing.

Once I realize that that isn’t working, I usually become dispirit, and then began to numb myself to the change that is coming  (one may call this acceptance).

My goal however is to start seeing change as something exciting and even when it’s not so exciting, it’s still an opportunity to explore a new and different situation. The leaving of a good employee may mean the hiring of a better one. A friend relocating to Ice Land may mean new opportunities to hike up Mt. Esja or walk behind the Seljalandsfoss waterfall. 

You just never know what change will bring about, so my goal and your new challenge if you too are fearful about change, is to start seeing the positive aspects of change and even if there isn’t any, try creating one! That’s what I’m doing 🙂

1 Comment

  1. John said,

    September 24, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Good for you, taking a new approach to change. Yes, I know the feeling of “change anxiety” all to well and commend you for looking at change as something exciting.


Leave a Reply

